• 1953 Saskatoon Hilltops Football Club

    Accomplishments: Canadian Junior Football Champions, 1953. The Saskatoon Hilltops have developed a proud tradition since the club was organized in 1947 and it all started in 1953 when the club won their first Canadian championship. This also marked the beginning Read more →

  • 1922 Saskwanis Rugby Team

    Accomplishments: Western Canadian Rugby Champions, 1922. In 1922, a 19-man rugby team formed in Saskatoon and became that year’s Western Canadian Junior Rugby champions. Saskwanis, as they called themselves, was made up of rugby players from Saskatoon teams, the University Read more →

  • Victor Lynn

    Victor “Vic” Lynn

    Vic Lynn’s very interesting hockey story began in Saskatoon.  He had a short junior career with the Saskatoon Quakers that included a Memorial Cup appearance in 1942.  Vic had a one game trial with the New York Rangers of the Read more →

  • Bill Hunter

    William “Bill” Hunter

    Saskatoon-born Bill Hunter has had a storied career that involves a multitude of sports.  While growing up in Saskatoon in the 30’s, he founded the Saskatoon Dukes Football Club, the forerunner of the Hilltops.  After attending Notre Dame College at Read more →

  • Bill "Red" Hay

    William “Bill” “Red” Hay

    William “Red” Hay played hockey with the University of Saskatchewan Huskies and the Regina Pat Juniors before moving to the Colorado College Tigers in 1955. In 1959, Bill joined the Chicago Blackhawks and played on what would become known as Read more →

  • The 2003 Steven Laycock curling team

    2003 Steven Laycock Curling Team

    Accomplishments: World Junior Men’s Curling Champions, 2003. When the Steve Laycock junior men’s curling team from Saskatoon captured the 2003 World Junior Men’s Curling Championship, they accomplished what no other Saskatchewan junior team had done before. Laycock, together with third Read more →

  • The 2003 Marliese Miller curling team

    2003 Marliese Miller Curling Team

    Accomplishments: World Junior Women’s Curling Champions, 2003. The Marliese Miller Junior Women’s Curling Team of Saskatoon holds the distinction of being Saskatchewan’s first ever women’s world junior curling champions. Miller along with teammates, third Teejay Surik, second Janelle Lemon, lead Read more →

  • The 1983 Rick Folk mixed curling team

    1983 Rick Folk Mixed Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Mixed Curling Champions, 1983. The 1983 team of Rick Folk, Tom Wilson, Elizabeth Folk and Dorenda Schoenhals, had finished in second place in both the 1981 and 1982 Canadian Mixed championships and were determined to complete the job Read more →

  • 1980 Rick Folk Curling Team

    Accomplishments: World Men’s Curling Champions, 1980. On March 30, 1980, Rick Folk, Ron Mills, Tom Wilson and Jim Wilson brought Canada its first world curling championship since 1972. After a convincing win at the Brier in Calgary, where they beat Read more →

  • 1978 Bernie Yuzdepski Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Mixed Curling Champions, 1978. The Nutana Curling Club in Saskatoon was home for the rink of Bernie Yuzdepski (skip), Marnie McNiven (third), Roy Uchman (second), and Joan Bjerke (lead). The team was put together just before club play Read more →

  • 1974 Rick Folk Mixed Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Mixed Curling Champions, 1974. The formation of a mixed curling team in 1974, when Rick Folk and Tom Wilson were joined by two other University of Saskatchewan students, Cheryl Stirton and Bonnie Orchard was the first time any Read more →

  • 1974 Emily Farnham Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Women’s Curling Champions, 1974. The Farnham curling team from the Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club was composted of: Skip, Emily Farnham; Third, Linda (Saunders) Wagner; Second, Pat McBeath; and Lead, Donna Collins. Farnham and Collins had played together for Read more →

  • 1971, 1972 and 1973 Vera Pezer Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Ladies’ Curling Champions, 1971, 1972, 1973. Vera Pezer and her rink of Sheila Rowan (third), Joyce McKee (second) and Lenore Morrison (lead) hold a unique place in the history of ladies curling. Representing the Sutherland Ladies’ Curling Club Read more →

  • 1970 Dorenda Schoenhals Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Ladies’ Curling Champions, 1970. In 1970, Saskatoon’s Nutana Curling Club products Dorenda Schoenals (skip), Cheryl (Stirton) Zipper (third), Linda (Burnham) Seaman (second) and Joan Andersen (lead) became the youngest team ever to compete in the Ladies Canadian Curling Read more →

  • 1969 Joyce McKee Curling Team

    Accomplishments: Canadian Ladies’ Curling Champions, 1969. The Joyce McKee Rink of Saskatoon was the winner of three Canadian Ladies Curling Championships. In 1969, Joyce McKee (skip), with Vera Pezer (third), Lenore Morrison (second) and Jennifer Falk (lead), were the winners Read more →