1995 Regina Rams Football Club

Accomplishments: Canadian Junior Football Champions, 1995

Some people consider the number 13 bad luck. In 1995, it was a number the Regina Rams Football Club eagerly embraced. On the strength of Canadian junior football titles the previous two years, the Rams were chasing their 13th national championship in franchise history.

With a proud tradition, winning ways and strong roots in the community, the Rams have enjoyed a great deal of success over the years. They won their first Canadian title in 1966, and followed that up with championships in 1970, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1976, 1980, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1993 and 1994.

The tradition continued in 1995 for the Rams, outscoring the opposition 153-30 en route to three victories early in the Prairie Football Conference season. Behind a strong running game, the Rams defeated the Calgary Colts 57-10 in the opener. They followed that up with a 57-6 win over the Edmonton Wildcats and a 39-14 victory over the Edmonton Huskies. Following a bye week, Regina fell from the ranks of the undefeated with a 33-20 loss to the host Saskatoon Hilltops, but came back the following week with a 51-14 win over Calgary. The Rams improved to 6-1 by shutting out the Wildcats 52-0 and defeating the Huskies 51-17. In between, they cruised to a 91-7 exhibition victory over the Winnipeg Hawkeyes. Avenging their lone loss of the season, Regina came from behind to record a 55-35 victory over the Hilltops in the final game of the regular season.

After defeating Calgary 49-16 in one semifinal, the Rams and Hilltops met again in the conference final. With a 19-8 victory, Regina won for the fourth straight season. Advancing to the Canadian Junior Football League’s Western Canadian final, the Rams edged the Okanagan Sun 11-8. They secured their 13th Canadian title and third straight national championship with a 26-10 victory over the Ottawa Sooners.

Installed in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame on June 14, 2008.

Front Row: Leanne LaMontagne, Brad Herschmiller, Alex Smith, Rick Seaman, Ron Senger, Frank McCrystal, Ed Bankowski, Jerry Orban, Bernie Schmidt, Ray Pitre, Trevor Herschmiller, Gary Uhren

2nd Row: Curt Huenison, Darryl Leason, Jason Bula, Chris Harden, Dan Gudmundson, Bereket, Woldu, Chris Frankwoski, Dan Paskiw, Craig Briere, Kevin Hicks, Louise Ashcroft

3rd Row: Chrystal Pelletier, Jason Melnechenko, Corrie McKee, Derek Fink, Tim Lynchuk, Mike Maurer, Shawn Harvey, Chris Briltz, Todd Orthner, Ikenna Ngoka, Cory Olynick, Stu Russell, Monique Knippel

4th Row: Roger Salloum, Rick McCullough, Lee Brentnell, Jeff Zimmer, Randy Srochenski, Royal Harden, John Carmichael, Derek Wollbaum, Barry Rees, Dennis Kotsetas, Todd Krenbrink, Chad Zipchian, Fr. Basil Chomos, Tony Theaker

5h Row: Bob Pelton, Curtis, Morgan, Tim Coucill, Brad Jensen, Ciaran Gilmore, Brad Tarry, Steve Uren, Chris Seibel, Trent Poitras, Mike Moore, Brent Dancey, Trent Langford, Thomas McCord, Jack Kennedy

6h Row: Paul Barnby, Don Fuchs, Doug McKillop, Brent Nicholas, Adrian Gilmore, Devin Gusa, Michael Leason, Chad Ball, Paul Wilson, Travis Taylor, Gary Treble, Wayne Saxby, Fred Dulmage

Ground: Justin Brenner, Terry Bourassa Missing: Chad Ehman, Matt Kellett, Mark Bernard, Wavell Starr, Denis Losie, Josch Shaw, David Howie, Dennis Junior, Earl Kallichuk, Al Kellett, Dean Kleisinger, Larry Kratt, Larry LeBlanc, Gary Mather, Don McDougall, Bob Millar, Dave Rezansoff, Norbert Thurmeier, Doug Tunison