1981 University of Saskatchewan Huskiettes Women’s Volleyball Team

Accomplishments: Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (CIAU) National Women’s Volleyball Champions, 1981.

The 1980-81 University of Saskatchewan Huskiettes were one of the finest teams in the thirty-three year history of volleyball at the University of Saskatchewan. The Huskiettes were crowned Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU) women’s volleyball champions for the third consecutive year, the first CIAU school to capture the women’s title in volleyball three times in a row.

In regular season play, the Huskiettes won the league with a nineteen win and one loss record and for the third straight year defeated UBC in the playoffs to win the Canada West Universities Athletic Association (CWUAA) championships.

The CIAU’s were a showdown. Even though the two-time defending national champion Huskiettes had dominated Canada West conference volleyball throughout the season, the implacable University of Ottawa Gee Gees, with many national team recruits, were still the heavy favourite to win. The Huskiettes swept past all others into the final where they defeated the University of Manitoba three games to one, capturing the Canadian championship for a history making third straight year with a perfect 6-0 CIAU record and overall twenty six win and one loss record.

Installed in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame on June 22, 1985.

Left to Right:

Front Row: Donna Zenuk, Colleen Pratt, Sandra Voitka, Kelly Stobbe, Cindy (Shepherd) Pischke, Sharon (Thomas) Anderson.

2nd Row: Don Smith (trainer/assistant coach), Dovona West (assistant coach), Grant Gudmundson (assistant coach), Melanie Sanford, Gisele Rongve, Cindy Crow, Sherry Saxton-Richards, Joyce (Senyk) Gamborg, Nancy Baker, Mark Tennant (head coach).