1975 Regina Rams Football Club

Accomplishments:  Canadian Junior Football Champions, 1975

For the first time since 1970 the Regina Rams failed to finish first in the Manitoba Saskatchewan Junior Football League. They finished the regular season with a 6 – 3 record, leaving them to face off against the Saskatoon Hilltops in the league final. In the two game total points final the Rams clinched the league title, upsetting the Hilltops 86-33.

In the Western final the Rams defeated the Edmonton Huskies, 35-25 to advance on to the Canadian Junior Football championship. Riding their momentum, the Regina team headed to Ontario to play the Hamilton Hurricanes for the coveted Armadale Cup.

With quarterback, Len Knoll’s pinpoint accuracy and Gordon Currie’s phenomenal coaching the Rams rolled to another Canadian championship victory, overpowering the Hurricanes 38-19. It was the Rams’ sixth Western championship and fifth Canadian championship in 10 years. Len Knoll was named the game’s Most Valuable Player and Gordon Currie was selected as Canada’s Amateur Coach of the Year.

Installed in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame in 1982.

Left to Right:
Front: B. Roenspiess (ball boy).

Front Row: D. McDougall (secretary), N. Thurmeier (manager), G. Hambley (president), J. Roenspiess (equipment manager), J. Lemieux (assistant trainer), M. Fiissel (assistant coach), G. Currie (head coach), J. Orban (assistant coach), directors: R. Houston, A. Jensen, P. Byars; physicians: Dr. J. Alexander, Dr. F. Samuels.

2nd Row: S. Ward, B. Lipinski, R. Labatte, C. MacDonald, S. Meikle, R. Aldag, M. Sim, B. Lane, G. Fellner, L. Knoll, T. Dolinski, H. Kozakevich, J. Francis (trainer).

3rd Row: V. Ell, M. Mushanski, S. Armstrong, B. McConnell, M. Constable, D. Young, K. Berryman, D. Herauf, R. Reitmeier, T. Parker, K. Derkson.

4th Row: D. Zerr, R. Glenn, D. Von Hagen, J. Kenyon, T. Almas, E. LaRocque, D. Mosher, T. McCord, B. Poley, J. Limmerick, L. Ludwig, D. Wilde.

5th Row: D. Killoh (assistant coach), T. Ziegler, K. Harle, D. MacKenzie, C. Kenyon, J. Reimer, G. Lang, B. Schmidt, D. Hall, F. McCrystal.

Missing: B. Illerbrun, directors: D. Black, R Chadwick, E. Fluter, R. Forsyth, H. Johnson, J. Joynt, A. Kerr, S. Livingston, G. Mather, B. Milton, T. Shepherd, J. Stewart, K. Wheeler, D. Wilson.