1941 Regina Rangers Hockey Club

Accomplishments: Canadian Senior Hockey Champions, 1941 (Allan Cup)

The Regina Rangers placed first in the South Saskatchewan Senior Hockey League with a record of 20-8-4. With a low total of only 95 goals allowed throughout the season, “Sugar” Jim Henry was named the league’s Most Valuable Player. In a hard fought battle against the Yorkton Terriers in the Saskatchewan league’s best of five final series, the Rangers won by a narrow margin. After defeating the Port Arthur Bearcats in the Western semi-final, the Rangers went on to win the best of five series against the Lethbridge Maple Leafs in the Western Canadian finals.

Perceived as the underdogs, the Regina Rangers met the Sydney Millionaires of Nova Scotia to compete for the Canadian Senior Men’s title and the Allan Cup in a best of five series.

The Millionaires started out strong, winning the first game held in Calgary 8-6 and the second game held in the home of the Rangers, 8-3. The Rangers battled back in the third game resulting in a 1-1 tie with each team getting a point.

Due to the tie, the point system was adjusted; the national championship would be given to the first team that had 6 points. The Millionaires, who had gained two points for each win, needed only a tie to capture the Allan Cup but the Rangers would not give up the coveted trophy so easily.

Playing in their home rink, the Queen City Gardens, the Rangers battled back in the fourth and fifth games defeating the Millionaires 5-4 and 6-5 respectively to force a final game.

Determined to win in front of their home crowd of 7,000 fans the Rangers shutout the Millionaires in a 3-0 victory with solid goaltending from “Sugar” Jim Henry. The players credit their coach, Freddy Metcalfe, who created a winning atmosphere by setting high expectations for the Regina Rangers.

The Regina Rangers were the farm team to the National Hockey League’s New York Rangers so many players went on to play in the NHL including: Garth Boesch, Grant Warwick, “Sugar” Jim Henry, Gord Davidson, Scott Cameron, and Frank Mario. Grant Warwick and Garth Boesch were inducted individually into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame in 1986 and 2013.

Installed in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame in 1967.

Left to Right:

Front Row: J. Kellett, Freddie Metcalfe (coach), Dr. M.R. Currie (president), “Doc” L. Hughes (trainer)

2nd Row: Hermie Gruhn, Jim Henry, John Kennedy, Stan Bladon, Bud Sandelak, Gordie Davidson, Scotty Cameron, Garth Boesch,

G. Coops, Alf Kunkel, Frank Mario, Grant Warwick