1925 Regina Pats Hockey Club

Accomplishments: World Junior Amateur Hockey Champions, 1925 (Memorial Cup)

The 1925 Regina Pats started off strong, going undefeated in regular season play. A part of a two team league, the Pats’ regular season consisted of only five games all against the Regina Tigers.

The Pats easily won the league and moved on to the Southern final. It was another blowout for the Pats as they outplayed the Swift Current Monarchs in the two game total point series 30-4. For the Saskatchewan title they met the Saskatoon Wesleys, again the Pats showed no mercy, defeating them for a combined total of 20-4 in the two games.

The Pats battled two tough teams, the Manitoba University and the Calgary Canadians to advance to the Western final. In the Western final the Pats met the Fort William Juniors. Capitalizing on the Juniors’ many penalties the Pats took the series for a combined goal total of 7-4 winning the Abbott Cup and advancing to the Canadian finals.

In 1925 the Canadian Amateur Hockey League decided to change the two game total point series to a best of three series for the Memorial Cup. Under these new rules the Pats could not just rely on heavily outscoring their opposition but rather winning each game. The Memorial Cup was held at the Toronto Arena Gardens against the hometown team, Toronto Aura Lee. The first game of the series went into overtime with Frank Ingram of the Regina Pats scoring the winner. The second game was a hard fought 5-2 victory for the Pats to take the Memorial Cup in only two games. Led by coach Al Ritchie the Pats dominated every team they played against, capping off their season by becoming the Canadian Amateur Hockey League champions, the first time a junior team West of Manitoba to win the award. Al Ritchie and defenseman, Ken Doraty were inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame in 1966 and 1978 respectively.

Installed in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame in 1967.

Left to Right: Frank Foster (secretary/treasurer), Bert Acaster (vice-president), Fred Veland (president), Ike Morrision, Jack Crapper, Bert Dowie, Jack Cranstoun, Sil Acaster, Al Ritchie (coach), Jack Gottselig, Jack Cunning, Stan Fuller, Ken Doraty, Frank Ingram, Bill Griston (trainer), Percy Ryan (assistant trainer).