SSHF will welcome seven new inductees in 2024 Class

The Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame (SSHF) is pleased to announce the seven (7) inductees who will become the newest members of the SSHF this fall.

The Class of 2024 features three inductees in the athlete category, two builders and two teams.

The 2024 inductees are:


Ray Mitsuing (Loon Lake) – Rodeo

Carl Olson (Fir Mountain) – Rodeo

Chelsea Stone (Mazzei) (Regina) – Taekwondo


Karen Howard (Melville) – Figure Skating

Wayne Hellquist (Saskatoon) – Volleyball


2018, 2019 & 2023 Sherry Anderson Senior Women’s Curling Rink

2003-04 University of Saskatchewan Huskies Men’s Volleyball Team


Members of the 2024 SSHF Induction Class pictured are Wayne Hellquist (back left), Nathan Johnson, and Brandon Needham from the 2003-04 University of Saskatchewan Huskies men’s volleyball team, and Brent Klein, great nephew of Carl Olson; Anita Silvernagle (front left), Patti Hersikorn, and Sherry Anderson from the Sherry Anderson senior curling team, Karen Howard, Chelsea Stone (Mazzei), and Ray Mitsuing.

The 2024 Induction Dinner & Ceremony will be held at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina on Saturday, September 28, 2024. Tickets are now available by completing the form at the bottom of this page.

Karen Howard judged the women’s figure skating competition at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi. She served as a judge and/or referee at three World Figure Skating Championships and four Junior World Figure Skating Championships. Closer to home she has been a judge, evaluator, and referee for Skate Saskatchewan for more than 40 years and continues to share her expertise to work with and mentor officials, skaters, coaches and parents.

Wayne Hellquist has served as a board member and executive at the national and provincial level in volleyball and was instrumental in the Canadian women’s national team being centralized in Regina during the 1980s. Wayne spent 14 years on the Board of the Canadian Olympic Committee, eight as vice president and he became the first person from Saskatchewan ever elected to serve as president. He also helped create the para-sport volleyball program and in 2000 he was Chef de Mission for the Canadian Paralympic team.

Ray Mitsuing competed as a chuckwagon driver for 36 years and qualified to compete at the Calgary Stampede for 36 consecutive years. In 1992 he won the Aggregate Championship at the Calgary Stampede and also earned the fastest time award there three times. He won the Canadian Professional Chuckwagon Association championship seven times during his distinguished career. He finished in the top-10 on the CPCA Tour in each of his last 12 seasons.

Carl Olson became the first Canadian-born cowboy to win a World Rodeo Championship in saddle bronc in 1947. Carl also won the first Canadian All-Around Rodeo title in 1945 and won again in 1948. He also won the saddle bronc national title three times and a national steer wrestling title. He was inducted into the Canadian Rodeo Hall of Fame in 1982 and passed away in 1983.

Chelsea Stone won 19 consecutive national championships in her weight class in sparring. She enjoyed an 18-year career as a member of the Canadian national team and served as team captain at five international competitions. In 2002 she was named the Canadian Taekwon-Do Federation International’s Athlete of the Year and the Sask Sport Female Athlete of the Year after winning four medals at junior worlds. She also medalled twice at the International Taekwon-Do Federation World Championships.

The 2003-04 University of Saskatchewan Huskies Men’s Volleyball Team won the school’s fourth men’s national collegiate volleyball title beating Alberta in five sets to claim the U Sports championship. The Huskies were the top-ranked team in the country after winning the Canada West title. During the pre-season they also beat Brigham Young University who would win the American NCAA volleyball title that year. Six of the Huskies starting seven-man rotation hailed from Saskatchewan and three members of the team won significant individual honours at season’s end.

The senior women’s curling foursome of Sherry Anderson, Patty Hersikorn, Brenda Goertzen, and Anita Silvernagle formed in 2016. They won six consecutive provincial senior curling titles, five consecutive national senior curling championships and three World Senior Curling Championships – each of which is a record. Based out of the Nutana Curling Club in Saskatoon, the Anderson foursome won their first senior world title in 2018 and repeated as champion in 2019 before winning again in 2023. This past year the rink was inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame.

The Atlas Hotel (4177 Albert Street, Regina) is the host hotel for the 2024 Induction Dinner & Ceremony.

  • Guests can book their accommodations online, by contacting the hotel directly at 1-306-586-3443 or by emailing [email protected] and quoting the following Block Code: 092724SHF.
  • The Room rate is $159.95 (plus 11% tax & 3% Destination Marketing Fee) for a double room (2 Queen beds). Maximum occupancy of five people per room (2 adults and 3 children). Additional adults will be charged $15 each.
  • Room rate includes a hot breakfast and complimentary parking.
  • Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. or later. Check-out is 11:00 a.m.

The Atlas’ cancellation policy is as follows:

  • 24 hours or less (based on 4:00 p.m. check-in time) will result in a charge of 100% of one night’s total guestroom cost.
  • 1 to 3 days’ notice (25-72 hours before check-in time) will result in a charge of 50% of one night’s total guestroom cost.
  • 3 or more days’ notice (73+ hours before check-in time) will not incur a charge.

The Block hold will be released on August 30, 2024. Individuals can still reserve rooms but now it will depend on availability and may be at a different rate.

Tickets for the 2024 Induction Dinner & Ceremony are $120 per person and include a charitable receipt. Tables of eight are also available for $960. New this year is the option to purchase an MVP table for $1,200 which includes six tickets for your party and two tickets that will go to a previous SSHF inductee and their guest who will join you for the dinner and ceremony. For more information on the MVP table, please call us at 306-780-9232.

Tickets may be purchased below or by calling the Hall of Fame.