Tim Leier appointed to Board of Directors

Robb Elchuk, president of the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame (SSHF), is pleased to announce that Tim Leier of Saskatoon has been appointed to the Board of Directors effective January 7, 2021. Tim brings to the SSHF Board professional expertise as a certified financial planner. A formal nomination in support of Tim will be put before the membership at the next Annual General Meeting scheduled for May 27, 2021.

Tim, inducted to the SSHF as a member of the 1983 Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (CIAU) National champions University of Saskatchewan (U of S) Huskies hockey team, fills a current inductee vacancy on the board. Since the team’s induction in 2000, Tim has held a deep interest in the Hall of Fame and its activities over the past 20 years. His personal and professional schedules have converged to a point where he has more time to dedicate to a SSHF volunteer commitment. Tim’s previous volunteer experience includes the Canadian Pension Benefits, Sask Sport, and the U of S Huskies Athletics Endowment Committee.

Tim played 76 games with the Huskies from 1980-85 and played in three straight CIAU national championship games. He also spent four seasons (1980-84) playing as a defensive back on the Huskies football team. In 1984 he won the E. Kent Phillips Trophy as the University of Saskatchewan’s Male Athlete of the Year. He is currently a Senior Financial Planner as a partner with Brian Mallard & Associates.

Tim joins current 2020-21 board members:


President – Robb Elchuk (Regina)

Vice President – Kevin Dureau (Regina)

Treasurer – Mike Babcock (Regina)

Secretary – Mike Babcock (Regina)

Past President – Rankin Jaworski (Regina)


Samer Awadh (Regina)

Trent Blezy (White City)

Lori Ebbesen (Saskatoon)

Laurel Garven (Regina)

Tennille Grimeau (Saskatoon)

Tim Leier (Saskatoon)

Kelvin Ostapowich (Regina)


Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>