SSHF Board Chair elected to another three-year term at AGM

The Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame (SSHF) held their Annual General Meeting on Thursday, May 25, 2023.

The SSHF’s financial statement was presented along with the 2023/24 operating budget along with reports from the Chair, the Acting Executive Director, the SSHF staff, the Governance Committee, and the Sport History Project.

Trent Blezy, Chair of the SSHF Board of Directors, was re-elected for a second three-year term on the Board. He is entering his second year as Chair. The other Officers of the Hall also remain unchanged.

Trent Blezy, Chair of the SSHF Board of Directors.

To date, Trent Blezy’s professional career includes the Government of Saskatchewan and the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, where his main areas of responsibility have been in managing public relations issues and advancing public policy utilizing a variety of mechanisms.

As a volunteer Blezy has worked in fundraising capacities to support the Saskatchewan Children’s Hospital Foundation and has held a number of positions with various Constituency Associations through the Conservative Party and the Saskatchewan Party.

Two new Directors – Amber Day and Scott Kistner – were both elected to three-year terms on the Board.

Amber Day is employed at the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority (SIGA) as Director of Human Resources and has worked in Human Resources field for 15 years. In her current role, she is responsible for the design, development and implementation of HR strategies, initiatives and programs that align with SIGA’s strategic goals and priorities. Day holds an Aboriginal Self-Government Administration Diploma and a Masters of Human Resource Management.

Scott Kistner grew up on a farm near Disley, Saskatchewan. He is currently the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Corporate Services in the Energy and Resources sector for the Government of Saskatchewan. Kistner has served on several boards and been a member of organizations including: the Government of Saskatchewan Information Management Committee (2018-current); member of the Lumsden Lions Club (2018-current); member of the Canadian Payroll Association (2015-current); member of the Government of Saskatchewan Extended Health Care Joint Board (2015-2018); member of the Inter-provincial HR Information Management Systems Council (2014-2018), member of the Oracle Human Capital Management User Group (2013-current); as well as local sports organizations in Lumsden.

Samer Awadh and Laurel Garven both completed their terms on the Board. For Laurel this was her third, three-year term, while Samer served two, three-year terms. They both provided an incredible wealth of knowledge to the Board and staff over their many years of service and their contributions were greatly appreciated and will be missed.


The 2022-23 Board of Directors


Chair– Trent Blezy (Regina)

Vice Chair – Karen Meban (Regina)

Treasurer – Mike Babcock (Regina)

Past Chair – Robb Elchuk (Regina)


Amber Day (Saskatoon)

Tennille Grimeau (Saskatoon)

Scott Kistner (Lumsden)

Tim Leier (Saskatoon)

Jeff Lightheart (Regina)

Kelvin Ostapowich (Regina)

Christopher Weitzel (Regina)

Cary Wessel (Regina)