Marnie Eistetter, S.O.M.

Moose Jaw born, Marnie Eistetter first tested the waters of synchronized swimming as a competitor in the late 1940s. However, she truly dove in headfirst when she returned to the sport as a parent and volunteer in the 1960s.

Marnie began her involvement in synchronized swimming while in her teens swimming with the YWCA Synchronettes in Regina. She was a competitive synchronized swimmer during her high school years at Scott Collegiate from 1949-1951, and then swam with the Y competitive club when it was first established.

Her contributions as a builder began as she volunteered in various capacities when the Regina Synchro Club was formed in 1975. Serving in nearly every volunteer capacity within Synchro Saskatchewan, Eistetter is the longest serving Board member in the organization’s history. She was a Board member from 1973-2003, serving on various committees and holding the position of President from 1996-1998 and 1999-2001. In 2006 Marnie was nominated by Synchro Saskatchewan to the Board of Directors for Sask Sport where she served a three-year term. A key figure in the provincial synchronized swimming scene, Eistetter is a Level 1 coach and judge, assisting with coaching at the Regina Synchro club and judging and refereeing at various competitions across Saskatchewan.

On the national level, Marnie served as Operation Chair for Synchro Canada from 2000-2004. She served as Committee Chair for the 1983 and 2001 National Synchronized Swimming Championships, as well as Awards Chair for the 2001 event. Marnie was also Co-Meet Manager for the 2003 Western Synchronized Swimming Championships, which were held in Regina. Internationally, Eistetter served on the Planning Committee for the International Synchronized Swimming Camp held in Saskatoon in 1991 and 1993, and was ‘Dorm Mother’ for over 100 athletes at this event.

For her contributions to the sport, Marnie was presented with the Synchro Canada Silver Pin Award in 2002, the Synchro Saskatchewan Special Merit Service Award in 2003, and the Saskatchewan Centennial Leadership Award in 2005.