1960 Joyce McKee Curling Team

Accomplishments: Canadian Ladies’ Curling Champions, 1960.

The Joyce McKee Rink of Saskatoon was the winner of three Canadian Ladies Curling Championships.

In 1960, Joyce McKee (skip), Sylvia Fedoruk (third), Donna Belding (second), and Muriel Coben (lead) were the winners of the first Canadian Ladies Curling Championship held in Oshawa, Ontario when Western Canada met Eastern Canada for the first and only time in a two out of three series. The McKee rink, Western Canada’s Champions defeated the Smith rink from Quebec representing Eastern Canada in two straight matches, 11-3 and 8-5.

The superior style of play by these Saskatchewan curlers forced women curlers across the country to come up to their standard affecting an overall improvement in ladies’ curling. The girls played an accurate take out game for the most part, but when necessary could switch to a draw with equal success. Their long slide style, especially that of skip Joyce McKee set a trend which has continued to develop. The sweeping style of the Westerners as well as their mastery of curling strategy was also a type rarely seen in Eastern women’s curling.

The “Joyce McKee Rinks” of Saskatchewan were a success on and off the ice. These three winning teams played a significant role in helping to establish the Canadian Ladies Curling Association Championship as a major National sporting event.

Installed in the Sports Hall of Fame on March 31, 1973.

Left to Right: Joyce McKee (skip), Sylvia Fedoruk (third), Donna Belding (second), Muriel Coben (lead).