New bylaws and Board members approved at Annual and Special Meeting

The Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame held its Annual and Special Meeting on Thursday, May 27.

At the meeting, the proposed bylaw amendments all passed. With those bylaw revisions comes a change in title for some members of the Board of Directors. The Officers of the Hall now consist of a Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer and Past Chair.

Minutes from the 2021 Annual and Special Meeting are available here.

Two directors were elected at the Annual and Special Meeting. Kelvin Ostapowich was re-elected to a second, three-year term, while Tim Leier was elected to his first, three-year term.

Ostapowich works in the wealth management sector as a Portfolio Manager with CIBC Wood Gundy. He was inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame as a member of the 1986 Regina Rams football team. He serves as board member with the Rams.

Leier is a Senior Financial Planner as a partner with Brian Mallard & Associates in Saskatoon. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a member of the 1983 University of Saskatchewan Huskies men’s hockey team. He has previous volunteer experience including the Canadian Pension Benefits, Sask Sport, and the USask Huskies Athletic Endowment Committee.

The 2021-22 Board of Directors


Chair– Robb Elchuk (Regina)

Vice Chair – Trent Blezy (Regina)

Treasurer – Mike Babcock (Regina)

Past Chair – Rankin Jaworski (Regina)


Samer Awadh (Regina)

Laurel Garven (Regina)

Tennille Grimeau (Saskatoon)

Tim Leier (Saskatoon)

Kelvin Ostapowich (Regina)