Dedication to Sport: Our 2022 Inductees

Start Date: Saturday, September 24, 2022
End Date: Sunday, September 3, 2023

The Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame welcomed a new group of 13 incredible inductees into its ranks on September 24, 2022 as the 54th Induction Ceremony and Dinner featured a double class of inductees.

After the Covid-19 pandemic delayed their induction, the Class of 2021 was enshrined at the same time as the Class of 2022.

Artwork by William “Bill” Brownridge as part of his Dedication to Sport display.

The Class of 2021 features athletes Justin Abdou (Moose Jaw – Wrestling), Rod M. Boll (Fillmore – Trapshooting), Colette Bourgonje (Porcupine Plain – Athletics and Skiing), Kaylyn Kyle (Saskatoon – Soccer), and Lyndon Rush (Humboldt – Bobsleigh). Shannon Miller (Tisdale – Hockey) joins the 2021 class as a builder and the 2000-01 University of Regina Cougars Women’s Basketball Team and the 2013 Saskatchewan Roughriders Football Club are being inducted in the team category.

The five members of the Class of 2022 are: Kelsie Hendry (Saskatoon – Athletics), Harry Winston Jerome (Prince Albert – Athletics), Rueben Mayes (North Battleford – Football) in the athlete category plus Antonia “Toni” Beerling (Rosthern – Athletics) and William “Bill” Brownridge (Vawn – Hockey) in the builder category.

A portrait of Harry Winston Jerome and his Canada track suit from the 1968 Mexico City Olympic Games.

With the addition of these inductees, there are now 540 inductees — 247 athletes, 166 builders, and 127 championship teams. With the addition of bobsledder Lyndon Rush, there are now 53 sports represented and with Porcupine Plain, Rosthern, and Vawn new this year, there are now 160 different Saskatchewan communities represented in the Hall of Fame.

Each of the new 13 inductees have their own Dedication to Sport display highlight some of the artifacts from their career.