About Us

The Hall of Fame was established to honour outstanding Saskatchewan athletes, championship teams and sport builders as well as preserving the history of Saskatchewan sport.

cropped hall photo.darcy

History at a glance:

  • Molson Sports Hall of Fame1966 – the Amateur Athletic Union of Canada-Saskatchewan Branch and the Molson Brewery partnered to form the Molson Sports Hall of Fame.  This was located in the Molson’s Hospitality House (on Dewdney Avenue).
  • 1974 – renamed the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame as they joined the Sask Sports groups on South Railway Street (now Saskatchewan Drive)
  • 1979 – the SSHF relocated to the current location at 2205 Victoria Avenue (the old Land Titles building  which is designated as a Heritage property)
  • 1981 – incorporated under the Non Profit Corporations Act

About Us:

  • There are 527 inductees in the Hall of Fame (including the 2019 inductees)
    • 239 athletes
    • 163 builders
    • 125 championship teams
  • 52 sports are represented in the Hall of Fame.
  • Our collection contains more than 12,000 sport artifacts and archives
  • In 2014 over 1300 volunteer hours allowed the SSHF to partner in local activities, host events and maintain our collection
  • Each year thousands of students from around the province receive tours and attend events developed to promote awareness of Saskatchewan athletes and sports.

Our Strategic Plan:

The SSHF developed a Strategic Plan in 2011 to guide us through future changes and development. We have implemented several initiatives: rebranding/new logo, a new website, an electronic Collections Inventory, a revised exhibit strategy and schedule as well as the addition of social media (Facebook, Twitter). For the past two years we have undertaken a program to digitize our collection through photos of artifacts and scanned images of archived material. The digitization of our collection will allow us to provide more information to the public via our website and social media.


Sask SportsFunding for the SSHF is currently provided by the Saskatchewan Lotteries Trust Fund and fundraising events managed by the SSHF as well as the Sports Investors Club which was introduced in 2012. Money earned through fundraising initiatives is used to support the ongoing preservation and conservation of the collection as well as the development of education programming and exhibits.

Board of Directors

Position Name
President Rankin Jaworski
Vice President Nathan Morrison
Treasurer Mike Babcock
Secretary Robb Elchuk
Past President Linda Burnham
Directors Samer Awadh
Tennille Grimeau
Kevin Dureau
Lori Ebbesen
Donald Gallo
Laurel Garven
Kelvin Ostapowich

Do you know someone who should be in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame?

Nomination information and forms are available on our website or at the SSHF.